Posted by: madkentdragon | April 24, 2014

European Elections – So who is my MEP?


I can tell the European elections are coming up because Nigel Farage is all over the television, complete with pint (is he sponsored by a brewery?).

So I started thinking about my local MEP and I realised that I didn’t even know who he or she was; I know who my local MP is, and I will admit that she does represent her constituency very well and has been known to ask us our opinion on various matters and even voted against the government on several issues – she is a Conservative and I would vote for her next time.

Before you all shout at me, I voted for her predecessor as well and he was Labour, but until he became a junior minister, he too represented us properly. I vote for the person who does what it says on the tin, not for the all too similar parties.

But I digress, who is my MEP and what has he actually done for the people he represents? I googled it and came up with this web-site http://www.europarl.org.uk/en/your_meps/list-meps-by-region.html and found the one who I think represents me – but his name didn’t ring a bell, nor did his photo – why?

I have never seen a newsletter, a newspaper article or anything about or from this person – so how do I know if he does represents me or my neighbours. Does he actually attend these bright modern buildings to use his vote?

How can I vote if I don’t know if he is the right man for the job – perhaps he thinks that we should remain ignorant of his activities – he may think ignorance is bliss. I’ve got news for you, it’s not – it’s frustrating and we pay enough into the European Union towards his salary for me to want to know is he value for money or a complete waste and I’m leaning towards the latter.

Oh and just as a matter of interest, here’s what they are meant to do…

Your MEPs are your elected representatives in the European Union. Their job is to represent your interests and those of your city or region in Europe. They do this by listening to people with local and national concerns, to interest groups and businesses. Where necessary, they question and lobby the Commission and the Council of Ministers.

Responses

  1. Excellent post Pat – made me realise that I don’t know my MEP either!

  2. With you all the way, Pat.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,328 other followers

