Posted by: madkentdragon | July 11, 2010

An Obstinate Old Bat


I have decided that I have now reached an age where the only person who I need to please is myself.

Let me explain, all my life I have pleased my parents, my husband, and ran round after my sons, and because I had no self-esteem I never said no and never complained. More fool me, because all that happened was that I was taken for granted with no recourse. It was completely my own fault.

Where did this weak compliance get me? Absolutely no where and when the worm did start to turn it found itself homeless and nearly penniless and taken in by a son & daughter-in-law who then used me as a babysitter and an open purse. Again I complied until after I managed to move into my own home and suddenly I woke up!

I was not a door mat, I was not a convenience or an open hand, I was a woman battling alone to survive – and I was not going to be taken for granted any more.

So now, offend or please, I say what I think; act as I see fit and have gained more respect than ever before. My kids ring to see how I am, not how much they can borrow; I gained respect at work – I always worked hard – but now I was treated like a person, not a number.

So remember one true saying: “You can please some of the people all of the time and all of the people some of the time but you can never please all the people all of the time” and it is so true.

Be true to yourself – that’s what really matters.

So remember, whether I offend or please you, I am just being true to myself.

Responses

  1. Very true words!

  2. Truly inspirational! Thank you for writing this!


Leave a Reply

Categories

