Posted by: madkentdragon | October 22, 2010

11-11-11Why You Should Pause To Remember


The question I’ve heard asked frequently is “If we have a two minutes’ silence on Remembrance Sunday, why do we need the extra one on the 11th November?”

Well here’s my answer – but first a bit of history….

The “Guns fell silent” or at least the Armistice was signed at 11a.m. on the 11th November 1918 – which is 11-11-11. The following year the first Remembrance was held at the newly erected cenotaph in Whitehall at 11am on 11th November 1919 and continued each year until the second world war. During this time everything ceased, to remember the dead of the “War to end all Wars”

However it was then decided to move the day of Remembrance to the second Sunday in November and this was set in the statutes. After WWII, everyone wanted to forget the war and no-one saw any need to change the date back to the 11th and it was forgotten!

In 1995 the Royal British Legion campaigned to reinstate the 2 minute Silence on the 11th and this has taken off extremely well and shops, stations and many public buildings now observe the 2 minutes.

Why should you do it?

OK , you’ve honoured the war dead on Remembrance Sunday? Well done you! But on the 11th why not take that 2 minutes silence to remember all those who came back – and are still coming back severely injured in body and mind, remember how much their lives change and also the families who have to adjust their lives to help them.

Remember the children who have lost a parent, the parents who have lost a child, families who have lost brothers and sisters and all have to learn to cope with the loss. Remember too, those whose lives have been altered by acts of terrorism at home and abroad; none of these will ever be the same again.

So yes, please Pause to Remember on this symbolic day, because “There but for the Grace of God go I!”

So will I see you on the 11-11-11 bow your head to remember for those two minutes out of your life? And I hope you will be wearing your poppy.

Responses

  1. We should never forget.

    Thankyou Pat, brought a tear to my eye xxx

  2. I remember on both days and have since I can remember. I also stand rather than sit often to the amusement of those around me.

    Quite sadly, and despite head office communications, the majority of places I’ve worked have only observed this in practise at my insistence.

    I don’t agree with many of the “my son shouldn’t have gone to war” lines but do believe those that sign up and lose their life for their country have, at the very least, earned the right for us to give up 4 minutes of our year.

    When I ran a forum I used to close that too so no one could read or post. Tried to get others interested but to no avail.

    • I truly believe we should remember those who need help as well as those who paid the ultimate sacrifice. It will never be universal – but I hoped my blog would encourage a few more

  3. I agree with Adam that it is wrong to attempt to sabotage Remembrance Day or Remembrance Sunday because you don’t agree with any particular war. Men and women still died in all of them to protect our democracy and freedoms, and villifying them (who maybe also didn’t agree with the war they were fighting) is the most offensive thing you can do.

    Or, as my partner says to them: why don’t you just go and p*ss on a war memorial?


Leave a Reply

Categories

