Posted by: madkentdragon | January 2, 2011

Review of my Last Year – Bring on The New!


Well it’s the second day of the New Year and I’m looking back at the highs and lows of last year and looking forward to this coming year and what it will bring.

The highs outweighed the lows for the first time in a very long time and I am now looking forward to it getting even better this year!

I retired and that was the best move I have ever made! My stress levels dropped by 75% within the first month and so did the IBS – both of which immediately made me feel so much better and therefore more optimistic!

OK, I got called back to “troubleshoot” another office, but I set my terms and conditions, and wasn’t frightened to do it! I’d developed some respect for myself, which has stayed with me throughout the rest of the year and into the new one.

I’ve made new friends on the net,  so it’s not face to face, but they are people you can share common interests and the occasional joke with, which is nice. Especially with someone like me; who although not completely housebound, does have problems travelling or walking too far – the curse of COPD. But even with that, I’ve discovered organisations that give me hints and tips on how to cope with it – a great help.

I still meet with friends and these are people who have been with me on the last few bumpy years of my life and accept me for who I am – an overweight older woman with her own opinions and still a smoker to boot!!

I still volunteer for the organisation I used to work for, by running training seminars, attending meetings (yawn!), auditing charitable accounts and advising on rules and regulations; and I’m now respected for my knowledge! This is certainly a boost.

But I’ve found that there is a life outside that organisation and will tend to go tilting at windmills on causes I feel passionate about. I’ve developed friendships, got two of my sons talking again after a two year hiatus and have time for them which is not when work allowed me!

So yes it was a very good year, and I still won’t grow old gracefully, because I want to keep going and do more of the same this year please!

So, if I haven’t said it to you HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

